Our Clinical Leads

Professor Ruth Chambers OBE, GP principal, Stoke-on-Trent, Chair, Stoke-on-Trent Clinical Commissioning Group, Honorary Professor, Keele and Staffordshire Universities and Clinical Lead for Long Term Conditions, WMAHSN

Ruth has dedicated most of her career to improving patient care in North Staffordshire, most recently on a quality improvement programme that has generated pan-population changes to blood pressure and cholesterol control. Ruth has been a GP for over 30 years and has written 70 books. Ruth is currently a partner in a GP practice, Furlong Medical Centre in Tunstall, Stoke-on-Trent.

Ruth has been instrumental in establishing a wide range of clinical applications for the innovative Simple Telehealth/Flo (STH/Flo) service, which enables remote interaction and support between patients and clinicians via mobile phone texting. She is presently the Chair of Stoke-on-Trent Clinical Commissioning Group. Ruth was previously telehealth lead at the CCG, working to disseminate and embed digital delivery of care, and is now the CCG's national ambassador for the telehealth programme. Her achievements were recognised with an OBE in 2012.

Dr Peter Lewis, Clinical Lead for Mental Health, WMAHSN

Peter is a Consultant Psychiatrist and was the Medical Director for Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust from June 2009 to March 2016. He completed his training in medicine at the University of the West Indies in 1972, then specialised in psychiatry at the Clarke Institute of Psychiatry, gaining his FRCP (C) from the Canadian Royal College of Psychiatrists in 1979. Following this, he worked in the Caribbean and held a number of assignments with the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the World Health Organization. He has been a board member of the AHSN and Mental Health clinical lead since the inception of the organisation.

Professor Dion Morton, Director of the West Midlands Genomics Medicine Centre, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon at University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust, Head of Academic Department of Surgery at the University of Birmingham and Clinical Lead for Advanced Diagnostics, Genomics and Precision Medicine, WMAHSN

Dion received his degree in Medicine from Bristol University in 1985. He was given an honorary consultant appointment at the University Hospital Birmingham in 1996, and was appointed Professor of Surgery in 2006. 

He is also Director of the Birmingham Experimental Cancer Medicine Centre, Director of Clinical Research at the Royal College of Surgeons of England and Deputy Head (Clinical) at the Institute of Cancer and Genomic Sciences, as well as being Research Committee Chair at the European Society of Coloproctology and President of the Society for Academic and Research Surgery.

His research interests are predominantly in clinical and translational research in colorectal cancer, but also encompassing the development of clinical trials in surgery. 

Safina Mistry, Clinical Lead for Wellness and Prevention of Illness, WMAHSN


Professor Gavin Russell, Clinical Lead for Patient Safety, WMAHSN

Gavin is the Clinical Director and lead for the WMAHSN Patient Safety Collaborative (PSC) and the Chair of the WMAHSN's North Membership Innovation Council. He is a past Medical Director of the University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust (UHNM), where he had responsibilities for the clinical development of the new hospital, R&D, postgraduate training and executive liaison with Keele Medical School, where he is Honorary Professor of Medicine. Latterly, he was responsible for the safe clinical integration of the Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust with the former University Hospital North Staffordshire NHS Trust during the subsequent formation of UHNM, overseeing the reorganisation of safe clinical services between the two sites. Currently, he works with the WMAHSN and is focused on development and delivery of the PSC in new and innovative programmes.